The Erasmus programme of the European Union promotes the cooperation of European universities by defining common standards as well as by the exchange of students and of lecturers. It was brought to life in 1987 by the council of ministers at that time of the EEC. The programme is named after Erasmus of Rotterdam (1467-1536), an important representative of the early European humanism. The name is also interpreted as an acronym (European action Scheme for the Mobility of University Students).
Erasmus is a component of the more comprehensive EU programme for lifelong learning, within which numerous forms of learning and of exchange within the EU and its related partners (Iceland, Croatia, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland and Turkey) are supportes.

The Erasmus programme is promoted by the EU with approx. 400 million euros per year, mostly invested in the support of the approximately 200,000 Erasmus exchange students taking advantage of the programme every year. The German academic exchange service (DAAD) acts as link between the EU and the universities in Germany. It assigns financial resources to the universities which they use to finance their Erasmus exchanges.
An essential element of the programme is the establishment of uniform standards for study achievements, as agreed upon in the European Credit transfer system (ECTS). One ECTS point (also known as credit point) is awarded for 30 hours of study time. The acquired ECTS points are acknowledged as equivalent by the partner universities. Also, a uniform grading scheme is defined within the ECTS to establish comparability.
For you as a student, Erasmus offers a frame which simplifies the organization of a semester abroad, including the acknowledgement of the study courses attended abroad at your home university.

Responsible for the content: